top of page

Bedtime Wonders

  • Writer's pictureRhyanne Jhulia Padere

Food at first sight: Yangnyeom Chicken Recipe


Oppa!!


Want some simple yet delicious Korean fried chicken recipe?

Would you care for super crunchy chicken that is coated with highly addictive do-it-yourself Korean sweet chili sauce? Then read on.


YANGNYEOM also called as Yang nyeom tong dak, yangnyeomtongdak, yangnyeom-chikin, or yangnyeom chicken it is a double deep-fried chicken that is coated with sticky, spicy, and sweet sauce. It’s seasoned and tongdak means a whole chicken but it’s really just bite-sized fried chicken, so sometimes Koreans just call it yangnyeom chicken.



The history of yangnyeom-tongdak is not long, starting in the early 1980s, that kind of fried chicken was popular and people used to order it all the time for their cravings. I discover eating this when I tried to have my dinner at a Korean Restaurant which is named 678 since it was popular because of the Korean Foods they sell.


I love spicy so I decided to order the yangnyeom and when the order came, I ate and then boom! It was so delicious that I get so addicted to the taste and that’s where it started that I always eat yangnyeom and I also call up the restaurant and they’d deliver delicious, hot, spicy, garlicky, and crunchy chicken to my house in less than an hour. And due to obsession, I watched few video tutorials on YouTube, I saw the entire process. I watched as the woman made the batter, fried it twice, and made the red garlicky sauce with ketchup and gochujang.


My eyes burned into her hands. It looked so easy. Later I made it at home. My brother said, “It tastes precisely just like the 678 yangnyeom but this one is a lot spicier than 678 but I love it more!” (my brother loves yangnyeom too). Also, yangnyeom is often associated with beer. I constantly noticed it on Korean Dramas, I don’t know the reasons, but they positively cross nicely together!


Yangnyeom is best for any event and I’m positive anyone will fall in love with it instantly. Learn the way to make it in 3 easy steps. You won’t be disappointed!





Ingredients

MAIN

1 whole chicken cut into pieces or chicken wings/drumsticks / boneless chicken thigh – choose from these based on your preference, rinsed

2 tsp minced ginger

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1 corn starch

Some cooking oil for deep frying

SAUCE

1 Tbsp butter

3 Tbsp tomato sauce/ketchup

2 tbsp gochujang (Korean chili paste), add ½ Tbsp more if you want to make it spicier

1/4 cup brown sugar

2 Tbsp soy sauce

2 Tbsp minced garlic

1 Tbsp sesame oil

GARNISH (optional)

toasted sesame seeds

green onion finely chopped or thinly shredded


Instructions


In a bowl, place the chicken, ginger, salt, and black pepper. Combine them well. Then evenly coat the chicken with the corn starch and set aside.


In a deep fryer add a generous amount of oil and heat it until the oil boils. Start adding the battered chicken carefully and fry them until they cook. Do not overcrowd the pan.

Take out the chicken and place them onto some kitchen paper while frying the remaining chicken pieces. Once the first set of deep-frying is completed, quickly scoop out any floating debris from the oil using a skimmer. Then deep fry the chicken again when the oil boils. Fry them until the batter is golden and crisp. The second time frying is shorter than the first time. Set aside.


In a separate saucepan, add in the yangnyeom sauce ingredients. Heat the sauce over low medium heat and stir well. Once it starts bubbling, remove the pan from the heat.

Place the fried chicken into a large mixing bowl then pour the sauce over the chicken to coat. Mix them lightly and thoroughly. Alternatively, serve the fried chicken and the sauce separately and use the sauce as a dipping sauce.


Once all the chicken is coated with the sauce, serve it hot immediately. Leftover chicken can be refrigerated for a day or two and eaten cold. But it won’t be as crunchy.

EAT WELL!!




8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page