top of page

Bedtime Wonders

  • Writer's pictureHanne Aina Fuentes

Wow I speak English



I like to talk to myself. The funny thing is, I recently just noticed that I speak in English when I do.


English isn't my native tongue; it's Bisaya. And growing up, it is expected of me to be fluent in it, but I'm not, or I think I'm not. Being exposed to cartoons at a young age helped develop my skills to speak in English; in return, I have a hard time understanding some words in my native tongue. Luckily the people around me are patient enough to tell me what it means.


Philippines Languages Map


Anyways, I find it funny that it took me years to notice that. I also repeat phrases from time to time like "I need to eat," "stop it," and others more. Looking back, I did converse with myself in English. The funniest thing I can remember while doing so is that one-time, I was reading a manhwa, and it didn't go that well. I questioned various things, and at some point, I got tired of questioning, so I told myself to shut up and move on. Which still happens when I read another story.


It is still a good thing though, speaking it often helps me in one way or another. People would think I'm crazy for talking to myself (which already happened), but hey, I'm fine. I only need the right time and place to do so. Also, I'm not the only one who talks to themselves.


That will be all for now. A wonderful EveDawn everyone!



6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page