top of page

Bedtime Wonders

  • Writer's pictureHanne Aina Fuentes

When They Seek Help



We have all sorts of problems that affect our mental health. Being mentally healthy is hard to achieve especially surrounded by an environment that could cause those problems. And sometimes, seeking the needed help could be seen as an embarrassing thing to do, which I believe is stupid. People have different ways of handling bad situations that is why it is hard to find out who is ok and not ok and needs help some of the times. We should be careful about what we say to others because our words and advice could mean more to them. Our words could greatly affect their moods and maybe even their decisions. So we should be mindful of what we say.

I had friends who have struggled mentally. Some act fine most of the time and prefer to make jokes and stuff while some are completely sad for a whole day or two and pretend to be ok in another. Back then, when they seek help and advice from me, I would try my best to make them feel better and calm them down. Because I know when some people are at their lowest, they can make bad decisions. And I have encountered some that have and it was not a good thing for my mental health as well.


Back then, when I could still handle the topic, I would give my best to comfort someone. I know I didn’t experience what they have been through, but for some reason, they share their problems with me. As time passes I can’t help but stay away from problems because now, I think my mental state can’t handle too much stress and information like it used to. Growing up with people who have tried not the best decisions in life and asking help from me affected me in a way where I can’t seem to handle stuff anymore. I would love to help them, but my brain can’t grasp the situation that easily anymore and sometimes just prefers to stay back.

I don’t intend for others to think that I don’t want to help them. It’s just that, mentally I am not in the state of mind like I was back then. I'm not down bad, I'm just staying away from things that could trigger me too. So I best stay away, and I'm sorry for those that have experienced that from me, it is not my intention. When they seek help—I seek help too.


…EveDawn, Everyone.



1 view0 comments

Comments


bottom of page