top of page

Bedtime Wonders

  • Writer's pictureDiana Ross Sumalinog

“Gloomy Sunday” the Hungarian Suicide song


It's near midnight, and I have a lot of thoughts on my mind. I was on the edge of breaking down when I suddenly remember the song Gloomy Sunday. Well, It is not that typical song that you thought would heal people's feelings. This song was said to be cursed and that whoever will listen to it will end up taking their own life. It's the infamous Hungarian suicide song.


I was randomly browsing youtube that time when I first encountered this song. I watched a video posted by a Youtuber to whom I subscribed. In the video, she explained everything about this cursed song.


The song is about a man asking to go along with his wife after his pre-arranged burial service. He appears to have been wanting to self-harm since he yearned to be reunited with his dead spouse. He was resolved to arrive in a hurry, so he assumed control over the issue. The English version of the song was released in 1936 by Ray Lewis. Stories encompassing the melody had many trusts it was an urban legend or something to that effect.


Let's take a look at the lyrics:


Gloomy Sunday Lyrics


Sunday is gloomy,

My hours are slumberless

Dearest the shadows

I live with are numberless

Little white flowers

Will never awaken you

Not where the black coach of

Sorrow has taken you

Angels have no thought

Of ever returning you,

Would they be angry

If I thought of joining you?

Gloomy Sunday

Gloomy is Sunday,

With shadows, I spend it all

My heart and I

Have decided to end it all

Soon there'll be candles

And prayers that are said, I know

Let them not weep

Let them know that I'm glad to go

Death is no dream

For in death I'm caressing you

With the last breath of my soul

I'll be blessing you

Gloomy Sunday.


An estimated rate of at least 20 deaths in Hungary has been accounted for to connect with Gloomy Sunday. A 1936 article from Time Magazine named "Music: Suicide song" discusses a few suicide cases in Hungary.


A local shoemaker named Joseph Keller left a note after ending it all, citing part of the verses from Gloomy Sunday. Few bodies were found in the Danube. In their grasp were the music sheets of the melody. Another two men shot themselves after hearing a band play the song while others took their lives while tuning in. It urged the banning of the said music in Hungary.


The story followed a comparable pattern in the United States during the 1930s. As per reports, a few US outlets declined to play the song, dreading it would have lead to suicides.


A young lady suffocated herself in Vienna, holding to the music sheet of the melody. Another lady ingested too much herself in London after listening to the song.


Seress committed suicide in January 1968 in Budapest; even though he survived jumping out of his loft window while at the clinic, he choked himself to death with a wire.


Life is pain; life's not fair, but just a reminder that ending your life will never solve your problem. Regardless of how much agony you're encountering at present, you are not alone. Many of us have had suicidal thoughts at some point in our lives. Feeling suicidal isn't a character deformity, and it doesn't imply that you are insane, powerless, or imperfect. It just means that you have more pain than you can adapt to the present moment. In any case, with time and support, you can conquer your issues, and the agony and self-destructive sentiments will pass.


"Suicide is a serious thing. And if you know anyone who is suicidal, you need to get them help. No one should be in pain. Everyone should love themselves." - Gerard Way.


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline

28044673


7 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page