top of page

Bedtime Wonders

  • Writer's pictureHanne Aina Fuentes

Did you hear that?



Have you heard or experienced something scary at night? I don't know about you guys, but I have, and as much as I try to forget about it, I can't. When I was young, the area we lived in had a power interruption around ten at night. That time, I was in bed, trying to beat the heat and sleep. Besides me was my aunt already asleep, who had her earbuds in listening to the radio. The only light source we had that time was one candle outside our living room, so we had to open the bedroom door for light to come in, which that time for me wasn't that scary since I wasn't that afraid of the dark. An hour later, I heard something very creepy. The bed was near a window, and behind that window was inaccessible since my father had stuff stored in there. So, why did my young self hear someone call out my name in a breathy voice in the middle of the night? And it happened a couple of times.



I remember trying to check if my aunt was awake or making a sound, but she wasn't; after that, I felt cold after so I tried my best to sleep, which I thankfully did. The following day I opened up the window and saw that no one could come up there at night to do that since there was no space for anyone to fit in. so I questioned, who did I hear?


Another thing happened at my grandma's house when I was in my 3rd year in high school. I've always had a habit of going to the comfort room before sleeping. I remember it was around midnight when I decided to go to bed. So I turned off my laptop, turned my room's lights on, and opened the door. The living room's light switch was beside the door frame, making it easy to reach and light up the living room. To the left side, in front of my room, was a door leading outside, which had a Virgin Mary poster. As soon as I turned the switch on, the poster swayed from left to right. I was so shocked to see that happen since no way could that happen. The windows were closed, and the breeze couldn't have done that. As soon as I realized that, I turned the switch off and closed my door as fast and as loud as I could to alert my aunt next room since she is usually awake at night and pinched myself. I jumped to bed, hid under my blankets, and prayed so hard for what I just saw. Eventually, I did fell asleep and the next day questioned if anyone heard my door slam last night. To my surprise, no one did. As expected, my aunt was awake those hours that time but heard no such thing as my door slamming. But I was, and still am sure, it happened. It took me days to get over that scary experience; I kept questioning them if they heard that, but they didn't. After that, my other aunt moved into my room to be with me. I didn't experience any more scary stuff after that, and I'm glad I didn't because that would have traumatized me way more than it already did.


I hope you didn't read this at night. But if you did, did you experience something scary too? How did it make you feel?


I guess this is the end for now. Good EveDawn, everyone!



3 views0 comments

Comentarios


bottom of page